#7. Publisher’s Clearing House’s $10 million dollar sweepstakes

“You may soon win $10 million dollars in the American family sweepstakes!”

— Ed MacMahon was speaking to me. Really. Like how a cult leader can get you to drink the Kool-Aid.

Every few months, a thick envelope came with an official looking certificate and sheets of magazine stamps asking for you to mail back to enter into the sweepstakes.

I always did… then immediately went into Neighborhood Watch mode, keeping my eye out for any vans, balloons, or suspiciously over sized checks that came around my cul-de-sac.

This went on for YEARS.

My parents would tell me to stop, since it was a waste of money buying stamps, but I would just nod in agreement, and then secretly sneak the envelope into the mailbox and raise the red flag. I dreamed about seeing the expression on their faces the day a giant $10 million check came for me, and I made the family rich!

Still waiting for you Ed… are you even still alive?

OK… Just checked Wikipedia. Yeah, so he died in 2009. Looks like we both lost.

Photo source: 1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #7. Publisher’s Clearing House’s $10 million dollar sweepstakes

  1. Pingback: #30. Scholastic Book Orders: The greatest way to buy books! | Retro 80's Kid

  2. I have entered for yrs. and Nothing. I even purchased magazines from a time or another thinking it would help! NOT!!! I keep hoping, like so many despert financialy deprived people truely needing the money. Only the wealthly when stuff like this. Never the ones in NEED!!!

  3. Dona Crum says:

    For once in my life I would love to have something good happen in my life. I have a boyfriend that is very skeptical about this sweepstakes and I would love to prove him wrong. I enter as much as I can. The only days I don’t enter is on the weekends because my boyfriend is here with me unless he is working on a Saturday. He does not like me entering. He tells me it is a scam just like the rest of the sweepstakes. I don’t think that way. I would love to help my siblings especially my younger sister. She is a alcoholic. She is killing herself and she does not realize it. She is shutting herself from her family. I want to help my kids and my parents. Also I would love to give some to the animal shelters so they can make more room for the strays that comes in there. Also I have dreams of my own. I would love to buy a piece of land and just build a little ranch home with a wrap around porch and pay off all my bills. I always had hand me down furniture. It’s not like I appreciate it, For once I would love to go to a store and pick out the furniture I really like. I would be like a kid in a candy store. I am on SSD. I have alot of health problems and not able to get even a part job. I am in pain every day and I get so depressed. It only thing that makes me snap out of it is my grandson. He makes me happy. I am leaving this in Gods hands. If it’s met to be, it will be met to be and I hope it is met to be. May God bless you and everyone.

Leave a Reply

